Home / Sports / Cricket / ICC World Cup 2015 schedule announced
ICC World Cup 2015 schedule announced

ICC World Cup 2015 schedule announced

ICC World CUp 2015Traditional rivals Pakistan and India and Australia and England have been drawn in the same groups for the ICC World Cup 2015.

The prestigious one-day international (ODI) event will be held in Australia and England from February 14-March 29.

Sri Lanka will meet New Zealand at Christchurch on February 14 to kick-off the event. England will scuffle against Australia later that day.

Pakistan will begin their campaign against arch-rivals India in a high-voltage clash at Adelaide on February 15. The men in green will play their next group matches against south Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland, and one other qualifying team.

The 44-day event will feature 49 matches across the 14 venues. Australia will stage their 26 matches in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney while New Zealand will host 23 games in Christchurch Auckland, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington.

The top four teams of both groups will progress to the quarter finals, followed by two semi-finals and final, which will be hosted by Melbourne Cricket Group (MCG) after 23 years.

The tournament was last held in Down Under in 1992, when Imran Khan-led Pakistan had defeated England in the final to lift trophy.

Ireland is the only side to qualify for the World Cup. The three other teams will be determined by ICC World Cricket League Championship 2011-2013 in October and a qualifier that is scheduled in New Zealand in January-February 2014.

Pool A

England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Qualifier 2 and Qualifier 3

Pool B

South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies Zimbabwe, Ireland and Qualifier 4



About Frank Zulekh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top