Home / Sports / Cricket / Pakistan left out Jamshed, Irfan for Zimbabwe Tests
Pakistan left out Jamshed, Irfan for Zimbabwe Tests

Pakistan left out Jamshed, Irfan for Zimbabwe Tests

Nasir JamshedOpening batsman Nasir Jamshed and pacer Mohammad Irfan have been segregated from Pakistan’s Test squad for the forthcoming tour of Zimbabwe.

Top-order batsmen Taufeeq Umar and Haris Sohail, bowler Umar Gul, who is recovering from the knee injury, and wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed are the other players to miss out who featured the squad for the Test series against South Africa in February. Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Khurram Manzoor and Imran Farhat and gloveman Adnan Akmal have been named their replacements.

Changes have also been made in Pakistan’s one-day international and T20 squads.

The announcement of the squad, selected by a three-member selection panel without a chief selector contracted by PCB, was made via press-conference. The committee didn’t explain the reason behind the changes in the squads but Irfan has apparently been given the rest from the longer formats while Jamashed has been restricted to the limited-overs due to his unconvincing Test record.

The loss of Jamshed became gain of Manzoor, a 27-year-old who is set to occupy the opening slot after staying away from national set-up for about three years.

Fast bowler Wahab Riaz, who managed to take only take only two wickets in the recently-concluded West Indies series, has been axed from both ODI and Test squads and has been replaced by Anwar Ali in both squads. Anwar has only played one T20 International against Zimbabwe in 2008.

The T20 squad features Multan-born-uncapped batsman Sohaib Maqsood, who nudged the selectors with his strong performance in the domestic circuit.

Pakistan are due to play two T20s, three ODIs and two Tests in Zimbabwe. The tour will get underway with the T20 at Harare on August 23.

T20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Ahmed Shahzad, Umar Amin, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail  Shahid Afridi, Zulfiqar Babar,  Saeed Ajmal, Nasir Jamshed, Umar Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Asad Ali, Anwar Ali.

ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shahzad, Anwar Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal (wk), Shahid Afridi, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Abdul Rehman, Asad Ali,

Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq,  Mohammad Hafeez, Junaid Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Abdul Rehman, Khurram Manzoor, Saeed Ajmal, Younis Khan, Adnan Akmal (wk), Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Azhar Ali, Imran Farhat, Wahab Riaz,.



About Frank Zulekh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top